January 2020 Reading Preview

 

I know myself well enough to know that I will never stick to a monthly to-read list. However, to help me stick to my goal of reading more intentionally and to share more books that you might otherwise miss, I’m going to try out something new. Each month, I’ll share a reading preview of what books are currently catching my eye. These will include the releases I’m most excited about, the books I’m prioritizing for projects or book club, and the books from my own shelves that I’m most eager to read. I’ll undoubtedly share way more books than I’ll be able to read each month (and I know I’ll be missing a lot of the books I’ll actually get to read!). But you’ll still get a good sense of the new releases, buzzy books, and backlist gems that are grabbing my attention now. And hopefully you’ll find a few new books to add to your own TBR.

 

January Releases

 

Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid (Dec. 31). This plot driven page-turner that deals with racial bias is all over the internet and has been chosen as January’s Reese’s Book Club pick. 

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link

 

Long Bright River by Liz Moore (Jan. 7). I love a literary mystery. This one follows two sisters: one is an opioid addict, the other a cop assigned to patrol the drug-riddled streets. Everyone I know who’s read this one raves about it.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

A Long Petal of the Sea by Isabel Allende (Jan. 21). This historical fiction novel is set during the Spanish Civil War and features an oceanic voyage and a strong independent woman. Plus we have Allende’s glimmering writing to look forward to.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald (Jan. 28). This book follows adult siblings Gert and Zelda when they fall on hard times. Viking obsessed Zelda sets out to save her family and make herself a legend.

Make Your Book of the Month | Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link

 

The Truants by Kate Weinberg (Jan. 28). I love a campus novel and a charismatic professor character. The Truants is being billed as a book for fans of The Secret History, which is something I can’t miss.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link

 

Other Hope-to-Reads

 

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo. This Booker Prize winner is my IRL book club’s January pick. I finished it this morning and found it astonishing. Evaristo’s writing is brilliant and her characters are almost overwhelmingly intricate. I’m also really glad I had the chance to read this before my trip to London in March.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

Emma by Jane Austen. This month, I’m rereading Emma for an upcoming project (stay tuned!). This time around I’ll be reading David Shapard’s annotated version. I’ve read his Pride and Prejudice edition and it’s phenomenal so I’m extremely excited to deep dive into Emma, my favorite Austen novel.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

Watchmen by Alan Moore. I loved the HBO show so much that I bought the book for my husband for Hanukkah. He’s reading it now and keeps telling me how much I’ll love it. This week my coworker brought me his copy so I could read it at the same time and I can't wait to dive in!

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi. This is a family saga about three sisters who take drastically different approaches to marriage. This Booker International Prize Winner takes place in Oman, was translated from Arabic, and is certain to be a mind-opening, world-expanding read for me.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

Sanditon by Jane Austen and Kate Riordan. I pride myself on being a Jane Austen completist, but I’ve yet to read her unfinished novel, Sanditon. This year PBS is releasing an eight part Sanditon miniseries (premiering on 1/11!) and Grand Central Publishing released a new edition of the book finished by Guardian columnist Kate Riordan.

Purchase from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 

 

Things in Jars by Jess Kidd (Out Feb. 4th but available early from Book of the Month). I’ve yet to meet an otherworldly Victorian setting I didn’t love, and this Gothic mystery sounds like a dream. Fans of Diane Setterfield and Jessie Burton are sure to love this one too.

Make Your Book of the Month | Pre-order from Amazon | Find on Bookstore Link 


 

This post contains affiliate links. When you make a purchase through the above links, I earn a small commission (at no additional cost to you) which helps me keep recommending books! All purchases made through Bookstore Link give 100% of the profit to your selected indie bookstore.